shutter speed question

Printable View

• 04-10-2010, 01:40 PM
    gembo888
    shutter speed question
    Hi guys

as you will gather im a beginner! ive been advised on a shutter speed of 1/6 for a certain picture - what is this? On my olympus camera the shutter speeds are 1-160 or -1-60 with the minus shutter speeds being a decimal point (eg 1.6) there is no / involved!! im confused!! any help please!!!:confused:
  • 04-10-2010, 02:38 PM
    SmartWombat
    Re: shutter speed question
    There is no fixed shutter speed for a picture.
    It always depends on the aperture of the lens, the amount of light, and the ISO speed.
    So using just 1/6 second without considering all the other settings won't work.

When you say minus shutter speeds, I think you mean just the exposure adjustment.
    You can adjust exposure + or - by up to 3 stops. That's not the adjustment you need.

If you let the camera to everything for you, by using "S" (shutter priority) then you can just dial in the speed you want with the main control dial.

See "shutter priority shooting" on page 44 of the E420 manual.
    Once it's in "S" mode I suggest you adjust the dial all the way up to the fastest speed of 1/4000 second and watch what it shows in the display, then adjust it all the way down to 60 seconds, watching the display.
    Get used to how the controls work before you go out to take the picture.
  • 04-10-2010, 05:09 PM
    Greg McCary
    What camera? and mode are you in? 1/6 is one sixth a second and in manual you should have this speed. That is a slow speed to shoot without a tripod, even if you use image stabilisation.
  • 04-10-2010, 08:35 PM
    Sushigaijin
    fractional shutter speeds show up as whole numbers in the viewfinder of most (all?) digital cameras. So 1/6 of second shows up simply as "6." Likewise, 1/8s is "8" and 1/160s is "160." The shutter speeds that show up as decimals, like 1.6, would be one second and 6/10s.