Olympus Cameras and Four Thirds System Digital SLRs Forum

Olympus Cameras Forum Discuss Olympus film and digital cameras as well as Panasonic and Leica Four Thirds System digital SLRs - forum moderator is Greg McCary.
Olympus E-System Digital SLR Reviews >>
Panasonic Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Leica Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Official Four Thirds Web Page >>
Olympus OM-System 35mm SLR reviews >>
Olympus Cameras History Page >>

Olympus Evolt E-500 Lens Recommendations

I am new to digital SLR photography and would like some recommendations on a good wide angle lens and a good telephoto lens for landscape and vacation photography for an upcoming trip.
    Many thanks in advance.

Re: Olympus Evolt E-500 Lens Recommendations

I think the best walk around lens is the 14-54mm, it is fast, tough and affordable at about 400.00. For wide angle the new 9-18mm runs about 529.00 or you could get the Sigma 10-20mm about 100.00 cheaper at 429.00. The 14-54 really works well for my landscape work. It is the first lens upgrade I suggest to anyone. It is a big step up from the kit lens.
    I am like Barney Fife, I have a gun but Andy makes me keep the bullet in my pocket..

Sony a99/a7R

Another vote for the 14-54, it's a great lens for general use. The 12-60 is another great walkaround option but it's quite a bit more expensive. For me it made sense to get the 12-60 and sell my 14-54 because it saved me the expense of a separate wide angle; 12mm is wide enough while 14mm wasn't quite. Either of those lenses will make nice landscape and travel lenses.

the 18-180 gets pretty good marks as a do-it-all option, but I'd rather have the higher quality and wider lenses myself.
    Erik Williams

Olympus E3, E510
    12-60 SWD, 50-200 SWD, 50 f/2 macro, EX25, FL36's and an FL50r.