• 07-29-2008, 03:12 PM
    xwingkiller
    2 Attachment(s)
    not your typical e-510 noise problem thread...
    i was out shooting some softball games for fun this last weekend. as im going through my files, i noticed that there seems to be a lot of noise even though im shooting at iso100 and mostly at 1/800 sec. i dont know if it is a ton of noise or not, but to me it seems like it is. i am new to dslr though so im not too sure. the worst parts seem to be on people's skin...arms, legs, faces...

here's a couple of examples of what im seing. this is 100% crop. overall it wasnt a big deal because i pretty much used everything around 1024x768 size for putting on the internet.
    i was just wondering though if these pictures should be useable at 100% size or if the higher resolution is really just to make it so your 50% crop would be a larger useable image than a lower resolution sensor.
  • 07-29-2008, 03:52 PM
    Photo-John
    Re: not your typical e-510 noise problem thread...
    Well, the images are a bit dark, which shows noise better. Well-exposed images have less visible noise. Makes it tough for those of us who like to shoot dark to hold the highlights and then adjust in post-processing.

Viewing your images at 100% is also not the best way to judge noise. As you said, you usually resize to 1024x768 to post in the Web. So yeahm you can see noise best at 100%. But 100% on the computer isn't the real world. Internet-sized images or prints are the real world. So I wouldn't worry about it. Expose a little lighter and don't look so closely :)

Oh yeah - if these are 100%, the noise looks fine to me. There's nothing to worry about.
  • 07-29-2008, 10:10 PM
    xwingkiller
    thanks photo-john.
    from reading wrotniak's tips on the e-510 he suggests to always have the exposure compensation set to -.7. do you think this is something i should just stop using as a starting point?
  • 07-29-2008, 11:09 PM
    Photo-John
    Quote:

Originally Posted by xwingkiller