Olympus Cameras and Four Thirds System Digital SLRs Forum

Olympus Cameras Forum Discuss Olympus film and digital cameras as well as Panasonic and Leica Four Thirds System digital SLRs - forum moderator is Greg McCary.
Olympus E-System Digital SLR Reviews >>
Panasonic Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Leica Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Official Four Thirds Web Page >>
Olympus OM-System 35mm SLR reviews >>
Olympus Cameras History Page >>

Newbie question.....E410 or E510?

First things first... introductions. I'm a newbie (bear with me) moving from a precarious point and shoot to a DSLR and need some help.

The camera will be used for pics of my kids, family gatherings, travel and outdoor sports. I've narrowed it down to the Oly e410 or e510 yet can't make up my mind due to sheer ignorance.

I checked both cameras at my local shop and like them both, so feel/fit is not a concern. Anyway, from my gatherings it all boils down to: (1) Get the e410 if size/portability is what matters or (2) Get the e510 if you care for the image stabilizer (IS) function. My problem is that I don't know if I need/want IS. When and in what situation does one require IS? All things equal I like the e410 for its size.

Please advise... btw the price difference is not a problem and will be buying the dual lense kit. Many thanks

[I apologize if this has been discussed before but I couldn't find an answer in prior threads]

Re: Newbie question.....E410 or E510?

IS, Image stabilization is the camera adjusting for hand shake, camera movement, while shooting at low light levels. Letting one shoot more without a tripod or flash. IS will not correct for a moving targets, kids.I use a 510 and I really like it. The 410 is just a smaller, more compact camera without IS. In the long run I feel the 510 is a better choice, IMO, Also the two kit lens will serve you for a long time the 40-150mm lens is great for chasing kids around and capturing them playing while giving them space.