• 10-31-2009, 04:47 PM
    tangogal
    Need help using 70-300 lens
    I'm a beginner and hope this isn't too stupid a question. I have an Olympus E-500 and have just purchased the 70-300 lens as I wanted a long telephoto. I've read all about the drawbacks of this lens (slow focus, poor in low light) but could not afford the higher priced lenses. I know I will need to use a tripod as my camera lacks image stabilization.

Here's my question--when I am in AF and turn the focus ring, the part of the lens that moves outward only goes to the 1:6 or a bit beyond the 150 mm mark. I can turn this part of the lens manually and move it out further but then it doesn't fully retract with the focus ring and I have to turn it in manually.

There are no operating instructions that come with the lens, so I'm not sure if one is supposed to extend it beyond that 1:6 mark or not.

Also, I understand that the lens can be used for macro photography. Is that correct?

I've been on the Olympus web site but there is no information on the operation of this lens and I could use some help from more knowledgeable photographers!

Thank you!
  • 11-01-2009, 04:02 AM
    Atomic2
    Re: Need help using 70-300 lens