Olympus Cameras and Four Thirds System Digital SLRs Forum

Olympus Cameras Forum Discuss Olympus film and digital cameras as well as Panasonic and Leica Four Thirds System digital SLRs - forum moderator is Greg McCary.
Olympus E-System Digital SLR Reviews >>
Panasonic Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Leica Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Official Four Thirds Web Page >>
Olympus OM-System 35mm SLR reviews >>
Olympus Cameras History Page >>

Just bought an e510 and I'm a noob

Hi everyone,

I just got my first dslr a couple of days ago....or my first camera for that matter..haha. I'm pretty happy with it. I've been reading around for a couple of months before I took the plunge. It was originally going to be a Rebel Xti or a E-410. When I went to the store and put all of the displays in my hands....I grabbed the E-510.

I have a couple of issues with the camera. First, I've noticed that in macro mode I get this one really hot red pixel. Is this something I need fixed? Second, I read around that turning the noise filter down reduces the softness of the images. I did this, and on the camera the images were fine, then Ioaded them on my computer and they were horribly noisey, especially with out a flash. I had to clean them up using the Olympus Master 2 software. After that, I was actually pleased with the pictures. Is that the best way to do it, or are there any suggestions on taking clean pictures without too much editing?

Here are my pictures on photobucket...there are a nice handfull
    http://s58.photobucket.com/albums/g2...e510%20photos/

If you don't use photobucket I've got a few here http://gallery.photographyreview.com...&ppuser=274317

Any tips or help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Re: Just bought an e510 and I'm a noob

olympuses are notorious for their noise control (or lack of it) but they make good cameras, the e-510 is a nice starter dslr to learn and produce some beautiful stuff with.