• 02-07-2009, 05:38 AM
    zyclonenuz
    Help on Olympus FE 250 Night Mode
    Hello everyone. First of all let me introduce my self... I'm Jay from the Philippines and I'm new on this forum and second of all I'm also a newbie when it comes to digital camera :D r

Anyway I just want to know what is it with our Olympus FE 250 everytime we use Night Mode or Night Portrait we always end up with blurry picture. Well I know its not my hands because I have a very steady hand when I'm taking pictures. Heck Auto mode is far way better than the night mode but the only problem is if we use the auto mode at night the view from the background is not really that clear. Here are some sample pictures I took from Hong Kong using Night Mode and Night Portrait.

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y16...onenuz/hk1.jpg

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y16...onenuz/hk2.jpg

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y16...onenuz/hk3.jpg

and here is the result of Auto Mode.

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y16...uz/hkauto1.jpg

Hope you guys can help. Thanks in advance :)
  • 02-07-2009, 06:25 AM
    Jaedon
    Re: Help on Olympus FE 250 Night Mode
    Hi Jay and welcome to the forum.

The reason that the images are blurry is because the shutter speed is so low that no matter how steady your hands are they are still moving when the shutter is open. I can tell that your hands are steadier than most because the images are not a complete blur, but nonetheless the pictures did blur. Also trying to shoot land while on a boat there is always motion that you cannot control.

In order to shoot properly in this mose with a slow shutter you need to either put the camera on a trip pod or on a hard surface where it will not move while the shutter is open.