• 04-17-2008, 01:30 PM
    Don Kondra
    Greetings from the no longer frozen white North..
    Very pleased to find what looks like an active Olympus forum :)

I'm a furniture designer/maker.

For years I was quite happy with my little Kodak P&S for archives and web stuff, I had my new work shot by a professional, then he up and moved away, sigh...

I'd always kind of felt I would like to be in control of the whole process. I live on an acreage so by the time I load up, drive to town and unload, have the shoot and then load and return home, a half day has passed.

To make a very long story, short. In the past five months I've educated myself about the various brands and features of digital SLR, chose a camera, and then started all over again with lens :)

Along with the live view, I chose Olympus partly because of the fact that Canon and Nikon people are so (insert politically correct term here) about their brands, whoa, just kidding, kinda...

I still have a ways to go but here's my first test shot, the wrinkled sheet is gone once I decide on a permanent location for my paper backdrop. The entrance bench is made in cherry and has a brown leather seat.

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/g...hbrownseat.jpg

The set up is mid afternoon on a cloudy day with two 65w CF lights in Cameron stands from the sides.

Cheers, Don
  • 04-19-2008, 06:10 PM
    Don Kondra
    1 Attachment(s)
    Re: Greetings from the no longer frozen white North..
    Sigh....

My greeting was too optimistic, this is what I woke up to... yesterday the snow was GONE.

Cheers, Don
  • 04-19-2008, 08:18 PM
    Greg McCary
    Congrats on the new toy. Please write a full review once you get the hang of things. Thanks also for sharing your first pictures.
  • 04-25-2008, 10:20 PM
    Don Kondra
    Thanks Greg,

I realize it can get tedious saying hi to everyone that drops by, not knowing who they are and whether or not they will hang around.....