Olympus Cameras and Four Thirds System Digital SLRs Forum

Olympus Cameras Forum Discuss Olympus film and digital cameras as well as Panasonic and Leica Four Thirds System digital SLRs - forum moderator is Greg McCary.
Olympus E-System Digital SLR Reviews >>
Panasonic Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Leica Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Official Four Thirds Web Page >>
Olympus OM-System 35mm SLR reviews >>
Olympus Cameras History Page >>

E3 or E30 Upgrade ??

Hi all,
    I am pondering an upgrade from the e510.
    Seems the E3 and the E30 can be had for about the same money. At least that what I see on eBay.
    Can you all point out a few of the major differences and tell me why you chose one model over the other.
    I am not a professional photographer but I still like quality.
    Is it safe to assume I can migrate my e510 lenses to the upgrade body?
    Should I really go this far or just try the e620?
    Thanks, Stan
    Stan

-N-E-X- Founding Member
    (New England XFires)

Nex.Blackxfire@Yahoo.com
    www.CrossfireForum.Org

Olympus E510
    14-42mm f3.5/5.6
    40-150mm f3.5-4.5

Re: E3 or E30 Upgrade ??

I faced the same dilemma as you and chose the E3. I love the weather sealed body, and having clean Jpegs past ISO1600. In its favor, the E30 is lighter, and has better dynamic range, but I feel having the stronger and more resilient body is more important than light weight, and less noise more important than higher dynamic range.
    E-3, E-510
    12-60 2.8-4.0
    40-150 3.5-4.5
    Sigma 30 1.4
    Zenit 58 F2 [with M42 adapter]
    Metz 48

I'am sorry, "higher dynamic range" translates to what? Please simplify for me. Thanks.
    Stan

-N-E-X- Founding Member
    (New England XFires)

Nex.Blackxfire@Yahoo.com
    www.CrossfireForum.Org

Olympus E510
    14-42mm f3.5/5.6
    40-150mm f3.5-4.5

Well, higher dynamic range means a great amount of light levels can be seen in one image at the same time.