Quitting Smoking

Printable View

• 02-23-2008, 11:09 AM
    mn shutterbug
    Quitting Smoking
    I've been smoking cigarettes for over 35 years and figure that it might not be a bad idea to quit. Has anyone, that has smoked and quit, ever tried the patch? How about fake cigarettes? With me, it's all just habit. I have to have 1 with my morning coffee, right after I eat, and several in between. I smoke close to a pack a day. While indoors, I light up between every hour long TV show. When I'm fishing, I light up every time I catch one, sort of to celebrate. If the fish aren't biting, I smoke even more. I know, I'm pathetic. :mad2: At this point, I haven't had any adverse effects from smoking and I don't spend that much on smokes. I order them online from an Indian reservation so they're about 1/3 the price of local brands. However, when I start dozing off while driving, they do wake me back up again. Actually, maybe they've saved my life a few times. :p

Anyway, I'm looking for advice from someone else that didn't have a ton of will power.

Thanks
  • 02-23-2008, 11:46 AM
    Sushigaijin
    Re: Quitting Smoking
    I smoked for 7 years, and found the patch only semi useful. It helped during the day, but gave me crazy nightmares at night - I suffer from nightmares more than I care to admit, but these were the worst I've ever had. I found that a 9-5 wearing worked best.

I also started with the mid-level patch, rather than the high dosage. I felt that I didn't want to replace my habit, I wanted to reduce it. I stayed on that patch for four weeks, and by then I hadn't smoked in so long that I only wore the weakest patch for 1. At that point, I was ready to be done with it. After that I didn't smoke for four years.

Unfortunately I find myself presently succumbing to urges to smoke. Regardless of how long I stay off the stuff, it always seems to come back like an old acquaintance. It's a tough road ahead for you, friend.
  • 02-23-2008, 12:20 PM
    Xia_Ke