PhotographyREVIEW.com Off-Topic Forum

Anything that's not related to photography, except religion and politics*. Discuss Britney Spears, your Kiss records, swing dancing, salsa recipes. The Off-Topic forum is moderated by walterick and adina.
*Religious and political threads will be deleted

Endurance Running tips?

I just started jogging again after 1 month off the tread mill. I can jog off the treadmill around 4 miles in 40 minutes, I do a mixture of walking jogging and running. I would walk a very short time to get my energy back, but once it has returned I can pick up speed and make up for time lost when I was walking. My goal is distance running and im new to this whole thing. I did one time in the beginning jog 8.4 miles and what a mistake, my legs were on fire :mad2:

Do you guys have any tips to keep my endurance up? Im not planning on competing, this is just a personal thing. I found that it really helped with my diabetes and anxiety, plus its great fun!

Thanks
    -
    Please do not take my photo's. Thank you
    www.SammySoliman.Smugmug.com

Re: Endurance Running tips?

If you can, get a coach. Also, look for local running groups/clubs, ask other runners for good running web sites. Good luck. - TF
    -----------------
    I am no better than you. I critique to teach myself to see.
    -----------------
    Feel free to edit my photos or do anything else that will help me learn.
    -----------------
    Sony/Minolta - way more gear than talent.

Thanks OldClicker for your input. A running club is a great idea. I never thought of it before...
    -

GB1

I long distance run too, LB. Here's what you need to transition:

# 1, slow down.

Make sure your shoes are right. Do you over or under pronate? Many runners do and don't know it until they get into distance running where they really pile on the miles. Certain shoes can help with that (stability, motion control..), orthotics are even better (I use both).