PhotographyREVIEW.com Off-Topic Forum

Anything that's not related to photography, except religion and politics*. Discuss Britney Spears, your Kiss records, swing dancing, salsa recipes. The Off-Topic forum is moderated by walterick and adina.
*Religious and political threads will be deleted

Thread: Big screen t.v.

Big screen t.v.

Hi, just wondering what everyone had. I would like to puchase a big screen t.v. in the near future, but a bit confused regarding LCD, Plasma, and the new and thinner rear projection t.v. I heard Plasma t.v. has overall best color....better viewing. When I check them out in the stores LCD t.v. seem to be brighter.
    Any feedbacks would be appreciated.
    Thanks

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

You nailed it...

Quote Originally Posted by barb_48
    I heard Plasma t.v. has overall best color....better viewing. When I check them out in the stores LCD t.v. seem to be brighter...
    Well, I'm no expert, and have neither (yet), but I have done a bit of research on it.

With the quality of the products nowdays, both plasma and LCD have excellent picture and color. The price difference has also gone way down, so even that is not as much of a factor as it used to be.

As you point out, brightness is a major difference between the two. LCD is indeed brighter, and is usually recommended for a room with high ambient or artificial light. Plasma will look better in a more darkened room.

I'm also pretty sure that plasma has a wider viewing angle, where the picture still looks good as you move to the side of the screen. This may be an important factor depending on how many people will be watching the set and where they will be sitting.
    "Riding along on a carousel...tryin' to catch up to you..."

-Steve
    Studio & Lighting - Photography As Art Forum Moderator

Running the Photo Asylum, Asylum Steve's blogged brain pipes...
    www.stevenpaulhlavac.com
    www.photoasylum.com

Re: Big screen t.v.