Nikon Camera Equipment Forum

Discuss Nikon digital cameras, Nikon film cameras, Nikkor lenses, Nikon camera accessories, etc. - Your Nikon cameras forum moderator is Franglais.
Nikon Review Index >>
Nikon Digital SLR Reviews >>
Nikon Nikkor Zoom Lens Reviews >>
Nikon Nikkor Prime Lens Reviews >>
Nikon Camera News, Pro Reviews & Articles >>

Sell D7000 for better glass?

Hey guys it's been a loooong time since I visited this site. I had completely forgot about it!

So I've been torn between these two ideas that have been circling in my head...

1. Sell/trade my D7000 for a Nikon 17-55mm 2.8
    2. Keep it and sell my 16-85mm VR and save up the rest to buy a used Nikon 17-55mm 2.8

With option 1, I found an offer on craigslist where he will trade me his 17-55 for my D7000 plus $250 cash. Meaning, I only get $1100 for my 2-3 month old body with 12xx shutter actuations and pay $850 for his 5-6 year old 17-55 but in great condition...

I've been shooting with my D80 for about 4 years and have been waiting for the next model release after the D90 to upgrade. I couldn't stand the poor low light performance on the D80 or the poor metering but other than that have greatly enjoyed the camera. Should I just keep the D7000 because I already have it? Or should I trade it for better glass with a constant 2.8?

Note - I mainly want good performance for shooting action shots of snowboarding/biking/etc.., shooting at night/low light, landscape, nature, and macro.

What do you suggest given the circumstances?

EDIT:
    Current Gear:
    - D80
    - Nikon 16-85mm VR
    - Nikon 50mm 1.8D
    - Nikon 70-300 VR
    - Vivitar 283-hv

n8

Re: Sell D7000 for better glass?