Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

UV filter and buying lens

I just recently purchased a Nikon D3000 (my first dslr)

Its a stock model with 18-55mm Nikkor lens, I want a uv filter for my camera, but Im seeing all these sizes and options, is there a certain model or size that will specifically fit my lens?

Also, can my Nikon accept all dslr lenses? or just Nikon brand lenses?

Sorry Im new to this camera thing and I joined these forums to learn as much as I could

Re: UV filter and buying lens

All filters basically just screw on to the front of the lens. Lenses all have specific filter sizes that fit them... think of it like a nut and a bolt. If the sizes don't match, you can't screw them together.

A little googling and it looks like your lens takes 52mm filters.

Different brands of cameras have different lens mounts. Canon has a specific mount, Minolta/Sony (Sony bought Minolta and uses the Minolta AF mount) has a specific mount. Most camera makes have a specific mount that means their lenses are not compatable with competitors cameras. The exception to this is the 4/3 system, which has several brands that use a universal lens mount... notably Olympus and Panasonic.

It's not that only Nikon lenses will work (in fact, just because it's Nikon doesn't mean it will work), but that only lenses for your mount will work. Tamron and Sigma often have multiple variations of the same lens for different mounts (Nikon, Canon, Sony, ect).
    --Cara

Canon 60D
    Canon XSi
    Canon 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 IS
    Canon 24-105mm f/4 L IS
    Canon 55-250mm F4-5.6 IS
    Canon 100mm 2.8L IS Macro
    Canon 300mm F4 L IS
    Canon 50mm F1.8
    Tokina SD 12-24mm F/4 DX

My stuff on Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/35592266@N05