Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

SD card write protected

Hi, I have just bought my first SLR a Canon EOS 1000D. I have a Silicon Power 16GB HC Class 6 High Speed SD Card. Having taken my first pictures, I inserted the card in my laptop and the Media Manager opened with an option to transfer files. There was an option to delete the image files upon transfer, which is what I did. Now, however, when I put my SD card in the camera it says it is write protected. I have tried accessing the SD card, and have enabled sharing, but I cannot find an option to release a write protection on my computer. Anyone any ideas? By the way, this is my first post, and as a newbie I would like to say thank you to all you helpful souls out there. Much appreciated.

Re: SD card write protected

Welcome to Photography Review. Try putting the card in the camera and re-formatting it in the camera and see if that helps. Myself I would never delete any files on the card until the files that were put into the computer were verified, Jeff
    Check out my website Here
    My Nikon D7000 Tips thread is HERE

All images posted by me anywhere are Copyrighted by Federal Law and may not be copied or used in ANY FORM without my personal written permission. Jeff Impey
    "I decided years ago I was only going to have two types of days... Very Good Days or just Plain Good Days I just refuse to have Bad Ones!!! :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Is there a little slide on the side of the card? Mine gets flipped to the lock position every once in a while and all it takes is to slide it to unlocked.

Quote Originally Posted by Iguanamom
    Is there a little slide on the side of the card? Mine gets flipped to the lock position every once in a while and all it takes is to slide it to unlocked.