Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Help With Choosing SDHC Memory Cards

I have a FujiFilm FinePix S2000HD camera, and would like to have a couple of high quality memory cards for shooting pictures and video at my son's Karate tests.

The last time I took pics, the camera was slow, and so I would miss a lot of good shots. Is this just the camera, or the memory cards?

I'd like to get 4GB and 8GB SDHC cards.

Suggestions ... ??? Thanks.

Re: Help With Choosing SDHC Memory Cards

My two cents, but I’m not a pro…

The S2000HD is not a DSLR, it’s a good “bridge” camera, but even the best bridge cameras usually don’t have the same shot-to-shot and write times as even a basic DSLR. The memory card may not make a huge difference. I too have a Fuji; it’s the S1000 FD, which is not quite as an advanced model as the S2000 HD, but it’s not a bad bridge camera for its price. Changing the memory card has not made a difference, in my experience. I compared a 2GB SanDisk SD card and a 4GB Kingston SDHC card, and performance was the same.

The slowness of the camera is going to be because of the camera itself, not with the choice of card. That is the performance gain you get with a DSLR- start up, focus, shot-to-shot, and write times are very fast. You may pick up a small amount of write speed if you do a lot of continuous shooting (holding down the shutter button to take multiple pictures), but in normal day-to-day operation the card won’t really be a factor.

I use 2GB SanDisk SD cards in my Canon A580 and my Fuji S1000 FD, and I use the 4GB Kingston SDHC cards in my Nikon D40.