Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Pentax ZX-10 Sync Problem or am I the problem? Calling Pentax Action Folks

I've been a professional equine photographer for about three years now and just recently started shooting manually with my Pentax zx-10 camera. I have the highest powered flash that is available for this camera and has the laser light and all. I do a lot of Tennessee Walking Horse and Racking horse photography - you have to get the legs and all just right or the people will not buy. I KNOW for a fact when I hit my shutter button, that the shot is correct but for the past two shows, when I get my proofs done, I've missed half my shots because the legs are 1 or 2 seconds from where they should be. Is my flash not syncing right?

I've tried to sync it. Also, when I sit the shutter speed manually, and try and use a flash, it will blur the photos terribly, to the point that they are not even salvagable.

Can anyone give me any input on how to get it to start working correctly? My fstops are on as low as they will go on my lense, at 4.5 and shutter speed at 2000. When the flash comes on, the meter reads "TV 60" which is the same as 2000. I'm really getting aggravated at a time when I should be getting better, it's getting worse :S

Thanks.

-Tasha

Flash sync speed