Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Question How To Do: Close-ups

I started playing with the camera and when trying to take crisp/great close-ups on like flowers, it comes out terrible and blurry.

I tried setting Macro and still no good. I haven't learn the 101 of digital photography.

Help?

I don't know how close-up your close-ups are. If you're trying to get close-ups in the range of 1:1 or greater, the depth of field is so shallow that its hard to focus. Also, with close-ups, camera shake can be a problem, so make sure that your shutter speed is fast enough.

Otherwise, if you're shooting at say 1/2 or 1/3 life size, it should be pretty much the same as general photography.

--Jeff

Close Ups of Flowers

Quote Originally Posted by iKwak
    I started playing with the camera and when trying to take crisp/great close-ups on like flowers, it comes out terrible and blurry.

I tried setting Macro and still no good. I haven't learn the 101 of digital photography.

Help?
    First of all, depth of field becomes critical with close-ups. The smaller the f stop, or aperture, the greater the depth of field...(sharpness). Some flowers can be taken at the closest focus distance of a regular lens or at the closest focus of a telephoto lens with good results. Sprinkling a little water on them can be effective as well as the judicious use of a cross filter. F16 or f 22 with flash can also darken the background and really make the colour of the flowers stand out.