Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Thread: good camera?

good camera?

Well Im actually new to the camera's like knowing whats good 'n stuff. I use a Minolta maxxum 5, I was woundering how good of a camera is it? I like it, im pleased with the pictures but I want to know what the people who are more camera smart think of it...Thanks

~Jamie

Sitting in a Leaky Dingy Michael Fanelli's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamie87
    Well Im actually new to the camera's like knowing whats good 'n stuff. I use a Minolta maxxum 5, I was woundering how good of a camera is it? I like it, im pleased with the pictures but I want to know what the people who are more camera smart think of it...Thanks
    Excellent camera and lenses. Beware, however, in that it has no upgrade path to digital other than vague promises and rumors.
    "Every great decision creates ripples--like a huge boulder dropped in a lake. The ripples merge and rebound off the banks in unforseeable ways.

misanthrope
    I looked at that camera when I was shopping for a new one. I liked the metering range, especially the fact that it could meter in the negative EVs. The matrix metering seems very good, and the options is has for the money are great. Unless it's a broken down jalopy, you should do very well with it.
    "We've all been raised by television to believe that one day we'll all be millionaires and movie gods and rock stars -- but we won't. And we're slowly learning that fact. And we're very, very pissed off."

-Fight Club, Chuck Palahniuk

Lombard, huh? Darn near neighbors...