Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

External Flash and Digital Rebel..... Help.

I hate to admit it, but I don't even own an external flash for my camera. I was curious if anyone knew what types of flash units will work with my digital rebel. I work for my university's newspaper (mostly sports) but there are times where I reeealy wish I had a decent flash. I have a limited budget (I'm a college student) so I have to take that into account. I was curious if anyone could give me advice on how well they last, if I could buy a decent one used, what brands to avoid etc...

Any advice is greatly appreciated.
    -Ryon

Re: External Flash and Digital Rebel..... Help.

One thing I learned, in this day in age, go with OEM. If you have Canon, go canon. I shoot with a 10D and have a 420EX, it is pretty well all idiot proof, yet does a really good job and is very well priced. If you go sigma or metz, it may work now, but may not work tomorrow, and probably won't work with your next camera.

What is OEM?

Quote Originally Posted by Ryguyinlj
    What is OEM?
    Original Equipment, canon camera=canon flash, nikon camera =nikon flash, and so on. I don't like to mix and match brands for incompatibility reasons.

misanthrope

Yes, definitely go with Canon Speedlites.
    The DRebel is an E-TTL camera, so you can use all the current flashes that Canon makes to their fullest. The cheapest new Canon Speedlite you can get is the 220 EX, for about $110. But it isn't really what you need for newspaper stuff.