Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

uv filter and Polorizing filter

Hi All,

I am new in photography but I love to take photos. I have a UV filter on my lence permanent and I bouught a new Polorising filter today. My questions are

1. Do I need to remove UV filter if I want to use Polorising filter or can I use Polorising filter permenent like UV?

2. What is the use of circular polorising filter?

Please kindly help me...

Learning more with every "click" mjs1973's Avatar

Re: uv filter and Polorizing filter

Welcome to the forum. To answer your first question, I would say yes. If you are going to use the polarizer, take the UV filter off. The more filters you have, the more you increase your chance of causing lens flare, ghosting or other issues. I would not use the polorizer all of the time. A polarizer is designed to cut reflections from shiny, non-metallic surfaces like water, and leaves. Think of a polarizer as sunglasses for your camera. The polarizer will also block some of the light coming into your camera, causing you to need a slower shutterspeed, or a wider aperture.
    Mike

My website
    Twitter
    Blog

"I thought that because fewer wolves meant more deer, that no wolves would mean hunters' paradise. But after seeing the green fire die, I sensed that neither the wolf nor the mountain agreed with such a view."
    Aldo Leopold

Ghost

Quote Originally Posted by jollys