Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Thread: SLR Choices

SLR Choices

I am new to photography and am looking for advice between three different cameras. The three I am looking at are the Caonon EOS Rebel Ti, Pentax *ist, and the Minolta Maxxum 5. Without having previous experience I am not sure what features are really necassary. Does the number of focus zones really make a huge difference (*ist = 11, Ti and Maxxum 5 = 7)? I just need some expert opinions.

Just My Opinion

First of all, I am not an expert. I do, however, have a comment. In my case, I bought a Nikon N50. Then I decided I needed to upgrade to a Nikon N65. Then I moved on up to a Nikon N80. My point is this: I would have saved a lot of money if I had gone ahead and bought the camera I really wanted in the first place.

Quote Originally Posted by smilin_irishman
    I am new to photography and am looking for advice between three different cameras. The three I am looking at are the Caonon EOS Rebel Ti, Pentax *ist, and the Minolta Maxxum 5. Without having previous experience I am not sure what features are really necassary. Does the number of focus zones really make a huge difference (*ist = 11, Ti and Maxxum 5 = 7)? I just need some expert opinions.
    I'd suggest going with the Canon, for the simple reason that if you get quite serious about your photography, you'll want to upgrade, and its easiest with the Canon (or Nikon). Whether you want to buy used gear, or sell gear, it holds its value pretty well. Plus the lenses are the best around, if you get really serious that is!