Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

50-250mm or 70-300mm for 2nd lense?

Looking at buying a new DSLR here and it will come with the usual 18-55mm kit lense. I'm seeing a number of package deals that also include either a 50-250 or 70-300 and I'm not sure which would be a better choice. Logically I'd assume 50-250 so I have a "full range" of coverage but maybe I'm way off there. My current setup is the non-US version of a Canon EOS Rebel SII which has a 35-80mm kit lense and is my only lense. Point being, I have no experience with extra lenses so that's why I'm not sure which one would be the better choice. I just understand that I'll already lose some of the zoom capability I have with my film camera when I get the digital unless I get a 2nd lense.

Re: 50-250mm or 70-300mm for 2nd lense?

What will you be shooting more -- wide-angle, telephoto, or macro? Maybe all, but which do you think more often? Also, will you be using the camera only for "casual" stuff, or are you planning on becoming serious about taking pictures?

If you are planning to become serious about taking pictures, then I'd suggest to get a good lens for the application which you want to practise most (i.e. birds / wildlife, kid's sports, landscape, etc.), and then get a lower-end lens for the other applications which you don't plan to do much photographing of.

For example, a primarily wildlife photographer:

Canon 70-300mm F4-5.6 IS USM (Wildlife, main application)
    Canon 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 IS (Casual shooting of wide-angles, standard length)
    Canon 50mm F1.8 (Occasional low-light situations, portrait)