Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

35mm SLR versus Digital SLR?

I've been using point-and-shoot digital cameras for the past 4+ years now. However, I'm getting ready to take a Basic Photography course and they require a 35mm camera.

My question is, should I borrow a 35mm from someone for this course instead of investing in a new 35mm camera (e.g. Canon Rebel)? Or, will I need the 35mm for anything else in the future that I cannot use a D-SLR for (e.g. Canon 10D)?

My interest is in nature photography and possibly selling large pictures (e.g. 20" x 24"). My fear is that I won't be using a 35mm beyond this course because I'm really interested in digital much more.
    Last edited by biguniverse; 06-01-2004 at 01:24 PM.

Digital.

My recommendation for anyone looking to break into Digital SLR's is the Canon 10D.

The world is ONLY getting more digital. A film SLR will be alot cheaper, so you won't be out alot, but if you get a good digital SLR like a 10D or D70/D100, you'll have something that isn't just a "hold over", you'll be able to use it as professionally as you can afford lenses and gear.

Buying a film camera is like going out and buying an OS/2Warp computer or a BetaMax video player, or a cassette deck for your car.
    A good craftsman never blames his tools.

Biguniverse,

It depends. You said you'll be taking a class. Does that class involve darkroom work? If so, the 1500 spent on a DSLR will be wasted because you'll only be able to use a film camera. What are the specifics of the class? We need more info to give you an INFORMED answer, something that Sean did not provide you with since you didn't give us enough to go on.

And PLEASE respond with new posts, do not edit your original since you will get no more chances at a better response form others on this forum.