Film Cameras and Photography Forum

Film Photography Forum Discuss film photography techniques, including darkroom, film types, film cameras, filters, etc. - forum moderator is Xia-Ke.
Read and Write Film Reviews >>
Read and Write 35mm SLR Reviews >>
Read and Write Rangefinder Camera Reviews >>
Read and Write Medium Format Camera Reviews >>

Minolta x370 - where do I start

Does anyone have any suggestions of where to start? What speed film? What aperture to select? What lighting to watch out for? I am a REMEDIAL beginner here...:mad2:

I have a Toyo Optics UV 55mm lense on it.

I just need somewhere to start.

Are there any good "self study" text books out there?

=)

Re: Minolta x370 - where do I start

Hi Alissa, welcome to PR

A couple of questions for your first... What do you want to shoot for subjects? Will you be shooting black and white or color? Do you typically prefer vivid saturated colors or a more natural look? Honestly, for now, I would just go to your local supermarket/Walmart/drugstore and pick up some regular old Fuji or Kodak 400 speed film. It's cheap, provides good results, and will be good for while you are learning.

For book recommendations, the 3 I would recommend for beginners are:

The Joy Of Photography

The Ansel Adams Guide: Basic Techniques of Photography - Book 1

Understanding Exposure: How to Shoot Great Photographs with a Film or Digital Camera

Hope this helps. Let us know if you have any questions and I look forward to seeing some shots :thumbsup:
    Aaron Lehoux * flickr
    Please do not edit my photos, thank you.

You are AWESOME.

Of course my son will be the subject - and my four legged child too...

Am I correct in thinking that the speed of the film is matched with the speed of the subject? So, dog running in back yard picture is 800 speed?