Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

Videographer in third world - how to upload to Switzerland?

First, my thanks to B&H for hosting this forum. When I was a documentary videographer I must have bought eight camcorders plus numerous pieces of equipment at B&H. Excellent prices, selection and service!

After a six year absence I am returning to video reporting. Frankly, I am a little confused by the changes in the new (to me) digital format and challenges of uploading/storage.

Things have changed - more complicated, I have changed - seems like middle age brain rot sometimes, and so has my pocket book - thinner! I used to rely on prosumer $ONY products and travelled with my own Macintosh. I cannot now.

I will post review of Samsung lower end camcorders another day (short story: yecch!) but for now...

How do reporters on a budget and on the road manage these days? I have a gig as a film location and character scout. I offered a certain European film producer my services and he agreed to my terms providing me with my estimated equipment budget - I was out of date! First I jettisoned the laptop idea, then I lowered my standards for camcorder. I'm currently in Singapore and Malaysia where alas, there is no B&H, and I have no credit card anymore.

I will post my query about particular camcorder needs later. For now, its the logistics of travelling without a computer that has me stumped.