Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

Thread: Video Formats?

Video Formats?

Hi Everyone,

I'm a still photography hobbyist. I know almost nothing about video, but I'd like to learn a little. I was wondering if anyone can point me to a resource that can explain the different video formats, in terms of what they are typically used for. For example, what kind of format is used for typical TV shows, high definition TV, big-screen movies, etc. I know it's probably more complicated than that. So far Google has just confused me, probably because I don't know the terminology.

Thanks,
    Paul

Re: Video Formats?

Paul, thanks for your post. I apologise for not replying straight away but i wanted to see where the thread would go. this is a difficult question as the technology is constantly changing and due to the way new technologies are being developed no longer fixed.

I will start with analogue video formats. (bearing in mind that i might inadvertantly refer to something that is pal specific)

first we have vhs, then beta tapes (i know the beta format lost the war but it was the better format which is important later) then we have 8mm and hi 8 tapes and stepping into the pro or broadcast formats we have sp beta and betamax.
    In digital formats (all of which have the potential to be broadcast quality depending on the camera that captures it) we have:
    digital 8
    mini dv
    dvc pro
    dv cam
    digi beta
    (ok that is the easy part now for the hard part)
    any of these formats can incorporate:
    Variable frame rates
    variable resolutions (from 720x576pal) the mini dv default to the hi definition 1080x???? depending on the camera.