Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

Transfer from Camera to PC

Hello there, first post.

I'm a digivid novice and am having a problem. I have a miniDV Sony DCR-PC330E PAL Handycam. When I transfer video to my PC using the supplied USB cable and the supplied software, the video quality goes goes down significantly. The image becomes heavily pixelated IMO. Even when I burn to a DVD and watch it, the image is still crap. When I use the AV cables and view on the TV, the picture is greart with no pixelation. I want it to be the same when editing on my PC. I have the camera setting to USB Stream but I don't know if this makes a difference.

I've heard it would be better to use a firewire cable, but will this maintain the picture quality from the camera? At the moment, the only way I can think to maintain the quality is to connect the camera, using the AV cables, to a DVD recorder but then editing becomes a problem.

Any help in this matter would be greatly apreciated. Thank you.

Sami.

Re: Transfer from Camera to PC

snmichaels,

Hmm, the cable used shouldn't dictate what quality the video you see is, the files going to be the same either way. It sounds to me like a video issue with your computer. What video card do you have? How much memory does it have? What resolution is it set for? What resolution are you shooting at?
    All of these could have an effect on what you see on the screen. Even the amount of memory the computer has can effect video playback. If your shooting at 640x480 pixels and veiwing it on a 1280x764 screen it will look pixelated, but if vewed at 640x480 should be fine.

JS