Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

need a recorder for real estate business

Howdy Folks,
    I'm a realtor and need a camera to do virtual tours..I like the hard drive recorders and think that's the best way to go...I have no clue and the last camera I used was a Sony DV recorder... I need to do simple virtual tours of homes and properties... I will haver to sync music and text to them as well...What would be the best camera?

Best Buy had a Panasonic 30 GB camera on sale for $349.....any suggestions?
    Thanks.......

MJS
    Digital Video Moderator

Re: need a recorder for real estate business

The software that you are using will help determine what camera to get. Once you pick the editing software, choose the camera by how much you can afford and whether or not it will handle the hard drive files without too much conversion hassle. Panasonic, Sony and Canon make some very nice consumer and professional cameras. Hard to go wrong with one of them. I'm still partial to MiniDV format because it compresses the stream the least of the video streams. When it comes to quality as pertains to files size, bigger is better.
    Michael
    Nikon Samurai #8
    Avid Editor
    Sony Shogun

What are some good softwares? I thought the old DV was better?

I used a Sony DCR-SR42 on a house recently. It was easy to use, the video wasnt that great but it should do..What kind of editing software would be best for this camera?