Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

Question Need advice for purchasing video camera and computer

Hi everyone. This is my first time on this forum. Hope I explain myself well, and hope I'm posting this in the proper spot.

My wife and I are about to have our first child (in August). I've never been a knowledgable camera person, but now that we're going to have a baby, we both want to be able to capture and chronicle the precious moments of our child's life on film. Since we're also at a point where we need a new computer too, I'd like to purchase a new digital video camera and computer.

I want to be able to easily shoot video footage (preferably storing it on a hard drive in the camera -- to me that sounds like it's the easiest and least confusing storage option) and quickly transfer it to the computer, where I can easily edit and make movies, email clips to family, & burn it all to a DVD.

I'm hoping some of you can give advice on features that are necessary or nice to have in a digital video camera or computer, or even recommend specific camera models, video editing or movie making software, etc.

Re: Need advice for purchasing video camera and computer