Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>
    ews

Replacing binoculars with digi/video to laptop

Hi.

Hope someone here can pass on some advice. I have a disabled partner, a Tetra (Four limbs affected after broken neck, with very limited use of arms and fingers). Our problem is she can no longer use, that is, hold or focus a pair of Bino's and I cannot do it for her.

So my question is- Is it possible to feed a Laptop with the output from a x10/20 optical zoom digi. In real time/stream it ???, ( i suppose this is like a super webcam ???) . So she can look at the Laptops screen as opposed to the view through Bino's.

I have no knowledge of Digital Video and we have not yet got a Laptop or Digi Video camera, we as yet are not sure what requirements both items would have to meet.

I allready have fitted a modified tripod to her wheelchair so she can use a Panasonic DMC-FZ7 Digital Camera plus a modification which enables her to take the image/photo ( she cannot press the button), this modified tripod will also clamp to the grab bar in our 4x4. This I hope will act as the mount for the Digi/Video camera. I will manipulate the Digi/Video as I will be also able to see the image on the Laptops screen.

Any suggestion or advice out there. As to types of camera, software, laptop power/CPU/memory/graphics cards, ect We are in the UK.

Many Thanks for reading this post.

Edward.

Re: Replacing binoculars with digi/video to laptop