Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

Please help! Equipment advice needed

Hello all, I'm going to be honest with you; when it comes to video recording I am clueless. Aside from shooting short film clips with my Nikon s700 I have no experience with video. However, I am planning a fairly ambitious film project. A friend and I are planning to backpack across North America and film the experience..there's more to it but it's all in the early conceptual stages. Anyways, as I said I don't know where to start when it comes to video recording equipment. So I'm not looking for anything too fancy, just reliable. We will be using the camera frequently...probably almost daily for several years. Also, how do video cameras do with weather? Are they waterproof? etc. Heck, any advice that you can give would be greatly appreciated =). Thanks so much!

Re: Please help! Equipment advice needed

sounds like a great trip, do you need a bag carrier?