Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

New here w/a quest? re: sharing My Videos on the web

I'm VERY new to digital photography. Since 2001 I had a 2 mpx camera & I JUST got a Canon Cybershot S3 IS w/movie mode & a SD Ultra II 2 gb card & I am still playing around w/the camera to find what settings work best. I uploaded my video to MY VIDEOS using my card reader & I opened a new dropshots AND photobucket account but even the few snippets of video i shot ( each 4 min long) took forever to try to upload to the websites ( or maybe it just never did upload b/c the file was so large). My question is about FILE SIZE for movie mode. Is it NORMAL for a video ( on my PC it uploads as an AVI file & on my laptop it uploads as a MVI file) to take FOREVER to upload? It seems like it took less time to go to My Videos ( hard drive) than to put the videos on a web-based video sharing site. My file would not be accepted by either photobucket or dropshots. The video file was something like 26,000 kb in size whereas dropshots/photobucket only allow 10 kb ( something like that....I could be incorrect w/the kb vs mb...I always confuse those & don't know which is greater). Is there a setting for my camera or something I can do on my camera to make all future video uploads not be so big in file size? Is the only way to change the file size through a video editing software program??? SOmeone please help! I'm pulling my hair out & can't wait to share the videos. Thank you thank you thank you in advance if you can answer these questions! :mad2:

---Tonya:

Re: New here w/a quest? re: sharing My Videos on the web