Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>
    bum

Need help on choosing a 'decent' dv-cam

hi

im new to cameras and need some help choosing digital video camera,

ive been looking through ebay and found some good cams but need advice, im after a good quality camera, doesnt have to be top of the range, and not professional.

All im after is a camera that has good fps, so no choppy recording, something smooth and crisp.

what should I look out for, i'm going to be using it for cars, such as car drag racing at nights and other things, some cameras arent that good in night which i know but i just want to know what i should look out for in the specs of the cam,

ive seen cams with MPEG4 15fps and QVGA 25fps, now is this good or not? Whats a decent quality fps and whats not. what could you reccommend. i dont need it for making tv commercials etc or nothing, just to be able to record good and smooth videos thats all.

otherwise i might just by a vhs cam and use a capture device to capture all the video through to pc?

some advice please.

Re: Need help on choosing a 'decent' dv-cam