Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

Thread: Need help!!

Need help!!

First of all tnx in advance for any help...

I am a total beginner to the world of dv cameras and the software surrounding them.
    My problem is a follows......

After capturing the footage and encoding it on to my pc the playback quality is what can only be described as horrid.... It is very grainy and blocky and also seems alot darker.
    At first I thought it might be the tape or dirty heads. However, after capturing footage and and conecting the camera to a tv scart for direct viewing the playback is 100% crystal quality. I think that rules out the tape and heads problems as I first thought it may be or any other problem with the camera itself. This then lead me on to believe (again only guesswork) that it might be something to do with encoding. My camera is a
    JVC GR-DX25ek and the software supplied is PIXELA Image Mixer 1.1. After trying a few different softwares I am still faced with the same problem. Again tnx in advance and any help would be much appreiciated......

Re: Need help!!

Hmm what sort of system specs are you running on? it is possible that the blocky effect is a result of your pc not being able to handle the larger video files. does your video capture card automatically convert to mpeg or does it capture files as avi's? as for things being noticably darker, this is sometimes a problem with the settings on your capture card. if you go into the properties for your card you should be able to play around with the brightness and contrast till you get it "looking right" but beware that it could also be your monitor that is out which would result in videos that are to bright when you convert them to dvd. can your camera export colour bars? this is the best way to calibrate your system.

Thanks for your reply.