Digital8 to DVD

Printable View

• 02-02-2006, 01:55 AM
    flipper
    Digital8 to DVD
    I'm brand new to transfering to DVD.
    My concern is I am not getting the same quality on my burnt DVD. As my my Digital 8 tape. Am I doing something wrong.
    Here is my setup:
    Sony Digital8
    More than powerful PC
    Power Director 5 software.
    Plextor PX-716A DVD Burner
    Transfering in AVI format to my hard drive.
    Burning in HQ to DVD

Any help would be much appreciated.
  • 02-02-2006, 04:38 PM
    Skyman
    Re: Digital8 to DVD
    Quote:

Originally Posted by flipper
    I'm brand new to transfering to DVD.
    My concern is I am not getting the same quality on my burnt DVD. As my my Digital 8 tape. Am I doing something wrong.
    Here is my setup:
    Sony Digital8
    More than powerful PC
    Power Director 5 software.
    Plextor PX-716A DVD Burner
    Transfering in AVI format to my hard drive.
    Burning in HQ to DVD

Any help would be much appreciated.

what compression / encoding settings are you using to convert the avi file?
    in theory dvd will always be lower quility than the original tape but in reality if you use the right compression settings then you shouldn't notice any reduction in quality.
  • 02-02-2006, 06:53 PM
    MJS
    Are you watching the DVD on a regular television monitor or on your computer LCD. Try the TV and check if there is any noticible difference.
  • 02-02-2006, 08:44 PM
    flipper
    First?
    I am watching the DVD on a regular TV
    As for the compression?
    The software talks about MPEG compression if I wanted to watch the file on my computer. Not when I bvurn it to a DVD.
    This is where I am not up to snuff on this new adventure of mine.
    From what I've read on the 'net, When you burn to a DVD it automnatically converts the file to MPEG, correct?