• 01-09-2009, 09:30 AM
    HappyL
    Choosing camera and ligting for indoor shooting
    I need to shoot an indoor scene with a stationary mounted camcoder in a medium size room. Haven't done video in a while and I'm not a pro, so looking for some advice.

Don't have a digicam, but an old Sony Handycam CCD-TR101 Hi8 that have not been used in a while. Final output format will be MPEG4, so with Hi8 I'd have to use a video capture card - already have WinFast TV2000 8bit D/A 640*480 - worked Ok for recording TV, never tried with the camera, would it be Ok?

Will I be much better off buying a new or used MiniDV Camera in $100-$250 range, or will Sony Handycam Hi8 be adequate?
    - I want to get the highest quality/resolution, but am on a budget, so I'm looking at trade-offs and alternatives.

Will standard room lighting work fine, or should I get some additional lighting?
    - I have a 500 watt halogen work lights that I can bring along, not sure if it will be good or not, but it's really bright. May be I should put a diffuser in front of it?

Any info is much appreciated

Thanks
    Happy
  • 01-11-2009, 06:47 PM
    Skyman
    Re: Choosing camera and ligting for indoor shooting
    Your hi 8 camera and capture card should be ok, but you might want to give it a test first. mini dv will be higher quality but if hi 8 is ok then you don't need to spend the $$.