Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

Low budget camcorder for nature movies

Hi, I am a complete newbie at camcorders. I do know a lot about binoculars and telescopes and a bit about photography.

My requirements:
    - camcorder for nature observations (birds, scenery, ...)
    - optical zoom of at least 40x
    - budget maximum : $500 or €350
    - lightweight
    - not to fragile
    - compatible with Mac OS X and Linux (editing tools)
    - if I have to choose between a 40x zoom and a 70x zoom, I would choose the one with the best quality at 40x (halfway the 70x zoom)
    - do I have to carry a 3 kg tripod with me to shoot stable movies with a 250 gram camcorder
    - good light sensitivity (no night shoots, but able to film on a very cloudy day)
    - ability to connect external mic
    - good sound recording (meaning for that price range)

Some camcorders in the price range:
    Canon LEGRIA FS200 SD Camcorder (40x)
    Sony DCR-SX31E Memorystick Camcorder 8GB (60x)
    Sony DCR-SX50E (60x)
    Canon Legria FS20 (45x)
    Panasonic SDR-H80 Harddisk Camcorder 60 GB (70x)

Some other questions.
    These cameras are lightweight, approximately 250 grams, but will I have to carry a 3kg tripod with me to shoot stable videos at maximum zoom? The rule of thumb for binoculars is that the maximum magnification for holding in your hand is 12x and I know a lot of people who can't handle that (I have a 12x50).
    As I was looking at the specifics of camcorders I noticed that the larger the optical zoom the cheaper the camcorder. I find this very suspicious.