Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

Where is i.LINK cable port in DCR-DVD908E

I am a newbie and this is my first post in this forum. My respect to all my seniors in this forum.
    a) I have purchased a Sony DCR-DVD908E Handicam. I am not finding out the i.LINK cable port. Can anybody please confirm, whether it at all contains a i.LINK (or firewire) port?

b) If I copy the original movies to my computer, will it loss any quality?

MJS
    Digital Video Moderator

Re: Where is i.LINK cable port in DCR-DVD908E

There doesn't appear to be an ilink port, they probably figure that you will put the DVD directly into the computer and pul the files from there. If you import the files directly from the DVD, there should be no loss of quality once they are on the computer. I believe that you can use any DVD drive that actually has a tray, a slot loading unit may be a problem. I haven' used a DVD camera yet, so I can't tell you what software to use with it.
    Michael
    Nikon Samurai #8
    Avid Editor
    Sony Shogun

if you don't have a tray loading dvd, then you can use the usb to copy the files.

Quote Originally Posted by MJS
    There doesn't appear to be an ilink port, they probably figure that you will put the DVD directly into the computer and pul the files from there. If you import the files directly from the DVD, there should be no loss of quality once they are on the computer. I believe that you can use any DVD drive that actually has a tray, a slot loading unit may be a problem. I haven' used a DVD camera yet, so I can't tell you what software to use with it.
    Sir, my best regards to you for giving attention to my thread.

I presently have a computer having DVD writer installed in it. So, there is actually no problem for me to copy those video files to my hard disc.