Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

canon 5D Mark II video mode

Hi, I have looked at video footage from a canon 5D mark ii and it is stunning; I am wondering if these cameras can film such clean, color balanced, 1080p video with good gamma, brightness, and contrast, why do people still opt for 2/3 in triple CCD cameras that cost in the five digit range (and have to re purchase accessories that each cost as much as a high end digital SLR to achieve the same short DOF that the 5D Mark II can easily achieve)?

thank you for your help!

Re: canon 5D Mark II video mode

I'm not a video expert, although I do shoot a fair amount of video these days. I think there are two main reasons you would choose a traditional camcorder over a video DSLR.

1) Ergonomics - traditional camcorders are designed for comfortable, steady video recording. DSLRs can capture excellent quality video but they're designed for shooting still photos.

2) Convenience - the huge zoom lenses on a traditional camcorders are a lot more convenient than changeable lenses on a digital SLR. The smaller sensors on camcorders mean more depth-of-field. That, along with continuous auto focus (only just now appearing in DSLRs) makes spontaneous and action shooting a lot easier.

It's not all about shallow depth-of-field either. I shoot action and I am usually looking for *more* depth-of-field to pad my focus and ensure I get a sharp subject. Try shooting action with a digital SLR and you'll find it's a hell of a lot of work and requires a lot of planning. Spontaneous video shooting is very difficult with a digital SLR.
    Photo-John

Your reviews are the foundation of this site - Write A Review!

Re: canon 5D Mark II video mode