Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

24fps? Worth the money?

Hi guys,

I've been doing video for a few years now and have decided to change things up a bit and actually do the filming as well as the editing. I've been looking at some "prosumer" level cameras (ag-dvx100 especially) and, while I like the idea of 24p, I'm wondering if it would be worth the extra money?

I basically have $1200 to spend on the camera. My main usage is going to be filming car racing and random activities to be edited together and be made into a DVD for a group of racing enthusiasts. But it will be used for other things as well. I'm not doing this professionally, just a little something to have fun with on the side.

I've been looking at the following cameras:
    Pan. AG-DVX100 (for 24p)
    Pan. AG-DVC30
    Sony TRV950
    Canon GL1
    Sony VX1000 (shying away from it though because it has no LCD screen)

I've been looking primarily on eBay and have seen some of these cameras going in my price range. But what do yall think? Is it worth saving and spending a little more on the DVX100 for 24fps (especially for my application). Thanks!

Re: 24fps? Worth the money?

I also will be doing alot of nighttime shooting as well so thats another factor that i need to weigh in.