Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Please explain why I need the lens to be faster...

I've got the Nikon D50, Nikon 18-55, and a Tamron 70-300mm macro, AND I'm on the hunt for another lens that will allow me to get closer to birds, as well as any other subject. But, I'm not sure why I'd need it to be "faster", as some seem to say about one lens or another. For instance, I read in a thread where the poster said that the Sigma 50-500mm lens was much faster than the 170-500mm Sigma lens. I'm a complete rookie, so don't laugh. Is it just that the lens Auto Focuses faster, or what? I'm buying a lens to get me closer, that I know, but what will the lens do IF it is one of these "faster" lenses ALSO.

My kids are active, so might use this lens to shoot some sporting action type photos as well, if that helps!

Thanks again for the schooling...

Kevin

Learning more with every "click" mjs1973's Avatar

Re: Please explain why I need the lens to be faster...

Faster can mean a couple of things. AF speed is one of them. The other deals with the maximum aperture of the lens. For example, the larger the maximum aperture (smaller f/ number) the faster the lens is. What this means is that the diaphram inside the lens will open up further, and let in more light. The more light you let in, the faster shutter speed you can use. The wider opening also helps the AF. A wider aperture is also very nice for low light situations.