Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Wildlife Photography

I'm a zoology grad student in far-off (for yanks and poms, anyway!) New Zealand - meaning I am lucky enough to get to go to all sorts of awesome places and see some amazing animals - or get rained and snowed on, more likely.
    To the gist of it!
    I have had some success taking photos with my Panasonic Lumix FZ-1. Love the 12x optical zoom, hate the two megapixels and complete lack of any kind of manual control - autofocus on those things is useless when you have a saddleback hopping around your head or a parakeet whizzing past!
    Now I am looking to upgrade to a D-SLR, with the plan being to take lots of (hopefully) beautiful pictures of animals and scenery...and ideally build up to some more "artsy" photography and people shots.
    Was quite keen on a Nikon D70, but have since talked to some people (including the director of a Natural History Film Making course!) who have suggested the Canon 300D...the plus of the 300D being a wider range of cheaper lenses with image stabilisation (A definite must-have, the rainforests here are too dense to lug around a tripod sometimes...being 6'3 can be enough of a challenge!). Also the 300D is a bit cheaper, which would let me get a few more lenses...
    I was wondering what the consensus would be on which camera to get? Most of the forums here seem to be about sports, people or still life...
    Obviously as a student I am VERY budget constrained, would be looking at maybe around NZ$2000 (maybe about...US$1400?).