Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Thread: Focus Points.

Focus Points.

I am completely new to my camera but have a question that I cannot quite figure out, I hope I make sense. When I go to take a picture, sometimes the camera doesn't focus where I want it to, particularly when I take a picture of one of my children. Is there a button or setting I can put it on to have the WHOLE frame focused? Thanks in advance!

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: Focus Points.

Which camera?
    Not sure but think most dslr will have focus options I use single point a lot but when things are busy I'll go to multi-point. In single point, I choose the most critical part of the photo I want in focus which in the case of people would be their eyes. I then hold my shutter half way to lock that focus and then compose.
    I saw your kids shots in the critique forum and they look pretty good. Choosing a wide aperture will throw either the background or foreground more out of focus. If you want more in focus you need to go with smaller aperture.
    Keep Shooting!

CHECK OUT THE PHOTO PROJECT FORUM
    http://forums.photographyreview.com/...splay.php?f=34

Please refrain from editing my photos without asking.

Chicagoland, IL, USA (transplanted canadian)

Quote Originally Posted by naleenasmom
    I am completely new to my camera but have a question that I cannot quite figure out, I hope I make sense. When I go to take a picture, sometimes the camera doesn't focus where I want it to, particularly when I take a picture of one of my children. Is there a button or setting I can put it on to have the WHOLE frame focused? Thanks in advance!