Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

I need some advice

I live in a small town and for some time I've been considering event photography...weddings, graduations, meetings etc. No one in the area does this and I'd like to do this as a side project to get some extra money. I'm an experienced videographer (5 years of professional work with various formats), but have only done a handful of photographic projects with borrowed cameras...my training is very limited. There aren't any 'real' photographers around, so I thought I'd be the first to take the time to learn and get some experience.

I have an opportunity to get a 10D cheap, or pay a little more and get a new Rebel XT. I just wanted to know what some opinions are out there as far as a comparison between the two cameras. Also, what lenses would you recommend for this type of work that I'd be doing. Thanks in advance.

Re: I need some advice

A fast 28mm lens gives scope to an event in that for example you can easily get the audience and the speaker in the same shot whereas often with a larger lens you can get one or the other but not both. Operating close with a 28mm means there is less chance of someone walking in front of you when you are about to take the shot. Apparent depth of field and sharpness are also good. Large group shots are also easier and demand less stepping back to take the shot.

A fast zoom that goes to 200mm, allows you to be unobtrusive when taking some shots. Centering in on an isolated activity involving a small group of people is also possible.

Quote Originally Posted by phurkee