Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Starting out as a sports photographer

Hello, I'm new to these forums and am eager to tap into the vast knowledge here. I'm looking to purchase a Canon 20D to use for sports photography, however, is this the right choice? Initially, I'm not planning to make this a full-time job, as I am a student, however, I want a camera that can pictures that could be sold for a small profit. Is the Canon 20D optimal for sports photography? What lense would be optimal for taking pictures of soccer/football/field hockey/lacrosse? My budget is capped at $2000 for the body and the accessories. Additionally, where should I buy the Canon 20D? I found a website that sells just the body for $900 new, however this price is $500 less than anywhere else. Should I be wary of this website (even though it looks legitimate). Here's the link:

Thanks in advance

Re: Starting out as a sports photographer

Other people on here will probably be able to give you better advice, but thought I might be able to help a little.

With a $2000 budget...the 20D is probably the best camera for sports you'll be able to get. When I save up enough, that's the camera I'll be getting to photograph wakeboarding.

As far as lenses, The 20D with the 18-55 lens is around $1500-1600 and so for a sports lens with the left over money, I'd get either the Canon 70-200 F/4L (a little over $500) or the Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 EX (a little over $600 and includes tripod mount). That will put you a little over your $2000 limit, but it would be a pretty good sports setup for the the limited budget.