Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Canon vs Nikon SLR

Hello everyone. I am new to this forum and really new to forums in general. I am really in need of some opinions/assistance and this seems to be the place to go.

Until now I have mostly used point and shoot digital cameras. I am finally looking to upgrade for a magnitude of reasons and I am torn between 2 SLRs. I have narrowed my search to the Nikon D40x and the Canon Digital Rebel xTi 400D.

As I mentioned I am a beginner so I am not looking for anything too difficult or too professional. I plan on using this camera for two main purposes, a cruise in Europe to take a lot of scenic pictures while on and off the boat and for sporting events. I will also use the camera for vacations etc.. but the two main purposes above is really what I will focus on.

I love taking pictures so I would like a camera that I can continue to grow in and learn. For the Europe trip I am also looking for a wide angle lense so I am not sure if that makes a difference price wise etc...

Every where I go it seems to rate those two cameras pretty close if not the same. It seems that the Nikon D40x is too new to get a whole lot of detail so mostly it is being compared to the D40.

One article I read stated that the Canon is much easier to expand on over the Nikon but I have only read that once.

I am hoping that you can assist. Thanks in advance.

AJ

Re: Canon vs Nikon SLR

I, too, am new to the dslr world. On the film side, I've used both Canon and Nikon cameras with good results.