Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Question Canon Rebel Xsi versus Nikon D5000

Hello,
    I'm a student and I'll be spending a year studying aboad in Beirut Lebanon. While I'm there, I'd like to take pictures of the city Beirut, people who live and work there, as well as some shots of the Mediterranean sea. I'm a student so I can't afford the most expensive dSLR's on the market but I've narrowed my choice down to the Canon Rebel Xsi and Nikon D5000.

I would really appreciate it if I could get some advice on which camera I should get for my purpose.

I'm taking a digitial photgraphy class at my University next semester, but I'm nonetheless attracted to the D5000's user friendly menu/interface since I'm a beginner with SLR's. I also like that the D5000 has a fully articulated LCD as well as a video recording option. But I hear that the in-menu system for ajusting ISO, aperture, and shutterspeed getting annoying with D5000 after awhile.

On the other hand, I hear Canon's one-button options for changing things like ISO and etc. come in handy. Canon also has two options for autofocus- one is contrast based, the other quicker autofocus actually flips the mirror. The problem with Canon is that the interface is not as friendly, the LCD is fixed, and it does not have video options.

Please help me decide what to do!

Re: Canon Rebel Xsi versus Nikon D5000

I think you are on the right track with your analysis and only you can decide. Which of these features is important to you?

"Canon also has two options for autofocus- one is contrast based, the other quicker autofocus actually flips the mirror."

Both Nikon and Canon use contrast focus for the Live View and phase-detect focus with a mirror for the viewfinder.