Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

the right camera?

user gallery

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi, Im new to dslr. I have a canon elan 2e film slr with a 28-80 lens and a ef 75-3001:4-5.6 zoom lens that I have had for about ten years now.

My new hobby is high powered rocketry and need a camera to capture many frames of the liftoff.

I am considering the canon xsi slr due to its lower price vs the higher end models. Will this camera work with my older lenses? and is the this the right camera for the job?

also what accesory do I need to take multiple speed shots?

thanks very much, bob
    Last edited by titan; 11-12-2008 at 08:29 PM.

Re: the right camera?

heres a couple of shots that a fellow member took for me!

titan-
    Welcome to PhotographyREVIEW.com! The rocket photos are cool. I played with small model rockets a bit when I was a kid. We ask that members only post their own photos on the site, though. Because this is a serious photo site, we want to respect photo ownership more than the rest of the world does. So if you want to share your friend's photos, it's best to get them to post them

So, on to your question...

The Canon XSi is an excellent camera. But it has a very slow frame rate and I don't think it will be able to do what you want. The frame rate is a built-in camera function and there's no accessory you can buy to speed it up. The only thing you can do is buy a faster camera. Do you have any idea how fast you need to be able to shoot? The Canon EOS 40D shoots at 6.5 frames per second. And the EOS-1D Mark III will capture 10 frames-per second. The EOS-1D Mark III will cost you over $4000 for just a body, though.
    Photo-John