Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>
    Sony A350 Owner, way amature photo hobby

RAW - pros /cons

Ok... I am pretty new to DSLR, I have been doing some reading on RAW and I must add I am also new to editting (I am taking a photoshop course in a few weeks)...

what are the pros and cons of shooting in RAW format. Is it basically for editting purposes that you would want to shoot in RAW verses JPG?

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: RAW - pros /cons

Editing is part of it, but also by keeping your raw files, the image never deteriorates by editing or saving. All the information is always there in the raw file whereas jpegs deteriorate if you save them too many times. Actually every time but you may not notice until after saving several times. This can be avoided by saving it with a different title each time.
    Very seldom that I shoot jpeg anymore.
    The disadvantage are that it adds editing time and they take up much more space.
    Keep Shooting!

CHECK OUT THE PHOTO PROJECT FORUM
    http://forums.photographyreview.com/...splay.php?f=34

Please refrain from editing my photos without asking.

Try this copy a JPG file, open and save the file many times. Then compare the original with the copy side by side. You will see a lose of details and colors.

This will not happen with TIFF, BMP, or GIF files and they do not use lossy compression. The advantage of RAW is 1) 12 to 18 bits per color, JPG is only 8 bit per color. 2) loss less compression 3) white balance, gama, and other adjustments are applied during work flow not in the camera (post processing).

Depending on your camera you may be able to select JPG+RAW, but the saving speed will be slower than just JPG
    GRF

Panorama Madness: